Cms Gorilla Agreement

In Uncategorized 17 views

At the first meeting of the Technical Committee of the United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP) Convention on the Conservation of Migratory Species of Wild Animals (CMS) on the Conservation of Gorillas and Their Habitats (Gorilla Agreement), the following topics were discussed, inter alia: activities of gorilla States in the implementation of action plans; conservation of transboundary gorilla populations; a monitoring and reporting system; funding; and to prepare for the second meeting of the parties to the Gorilla Convention (MOP 2). The second MoP took place from 26 to 27 November 2011 in Bergen, Norway. [4] During the second Convention, four resolutions were adopted on the following topics: cooperation and exchange of information to improve the enforcement of wildlife legislation; financial matters; institutional provisions of the agreement and elements of information management for the protection of gorillas. [5] The parties represented were Congo, Gabon and Nigeria, as well as the bipartite states of Cameroon, Equatorial Guinea and Uganda. All ten States had planned to participate in the meeting, but the representatives of Angola, the Central African Republic, the Democratic Republic of the Congo and Rwanda had not been able to obtain visas in time. The Meeting of the Parties (MoP) is the highest decision-making body of the agreement and adopts resolutions. Ordinary meetings of the MoP shall be held at least every three years, unless the MoP decides otherwise. To the extent possible, sessions should be organized in conjunction with the ordinary meetings of the Conference of the Parties to the CMS. An extraordinary meeting shall be convened at the written request of at least one third of the parties. Only parties have the right to vote and each party has only one vote.

Decisions of the MoP are usually taken by consensus or, in the absence of consensus, by a two-thirds majority of the parties present and voting. The Gorilla Agreement aims to preserve and restore critically endangered primate species in East, Central and West Africa, by formulating action plans of the Parties for each of the four subspecies including education, research, forest protection, management, tourism and capacity building. The two species of gorillas, Western gorillas and Eastern gorillas, are listed under cmS with two subspecies: Uganda is home to more than half of the remaining mountain gorilla population and some of them migrate to Rwanda, the Democratic Republic of Congo, and Uganda. . . .

No related post!